Complete Guide to the 2017 Confederations Cup

The 2017 Confederations Cup gets underway on Saturday. Here’s a complete guide to this summer’s international football action!

What is the Confederations Cup?

The prize up for grabs in Russia this summer.

The Confederations Cup is a prelude for next year’s World Cup. It brings together the Champions from the the major continental competitions such as the Copa America, European Championship and Africa Cup of Nations. Russia will also take part as they are the host nation.

What teams are taking part?

The competing nations are:

  • Russia – Host nation
  • Germany – 2014 World Cup Champions
  • Australia – 2015 AFC Asian Cup Champions 
  • Chile – 2015 Copa America Champions
  • Mexico – 2015 CONCACAF Champions
  • New Zealand – 2016 OFC Nations Cup Champions
  • Portugal – UEFA EURO 2016 Champions
  • Cameroon – 2017 Africa Cup of Nations Champions


The tournament will be played in two stages: a group stage and a latter knockout stage. In the group stage, each team will play three games in a group of four, with the winners and runners-up from each group advancing to the knockout stage.

In the knockout stage, the four teams will compete in single-elimination matches, beginning with the semi-finals and ending with the final match of the tournament. A third-place match will also be played between the two losing semi-finalist teams.


Group A

  • Russia 
  • New Zealand
  • Portugal
  • Mexico

Group B

  • Cameroon
  • Chile
  • Australia
  • Germany


Saint Petersburg Stadium

Host City: Saint Petersburg
Build type: New stadium
Capacity: 68,134
Location: Krestovsky Island
Home Team: FC Zenit Saint Petersburg

Spartak Stadium

Host City: Moscow
Build type: New stadium
Capacity: 43,298
Location: Tushino
Home Team: FC Spartak Moscow

Kazan Arena

Host City: Kazan
Build type: New stadium
Capacity: 44,779
Location: Chistopolskaya Street, Novo-Savinovsky district
Home Team: FC Rubin Kazan

Fisht Stadium

Host City: Sochi
Build type: Stadium Reconstruction
Capacity: 47,700
Location: Olympic Park, Adler district
Home Team: Russian national team


Group games begin on the 17th of June and conclude on the 25th.

  • The Krestovsky Stadium will host the final on 2 July.
  • The Kazan Arena will host the first semi-final on 28 June.
  • The Fisht Olympic Stadium will host the second semi-final on 29 June.
  • The Otkrytiye Arena will host the third place match on 2 July.

Past Winners:

  • 1992 Argentina
  • 1995 Denmark
  • 1997 Brazil
  • 1999 Mexico
  • 2001 France
  • 2003 France
  • 2005 Brazil
  • 2009 Brazil
  • 2013 Brazil

Be sure to come back here everyday for match reports and all the latest news regarding this summer’s tournament!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *