Dublin dominate GAA All-Stars

All-Ireland champions Dublin have been honoured with the selection of six players in this year’s GAA/GPA All-Star football team.

Jim Gavin’s side retained the Sam Maguire Cup, Leinster Championship and National League in 2016 and have the largest representation in a team that features players from six different counties.

All-Ireland finalists Mayo receive four All-Stars, including a first for goalkeeper David Clarke and fourth for Lee Keegan.

Mattie Donnelly and Peter Harte make the cut after Tyrone’s Ulster success with Ryan McHugh, Michael Quinlivan and Dean Rock among a list of eight players picking up their first ever awards.

Quinlivan is only the second Tipperary footballer to win an All-Star, following in Declan Browne’s footsteps

Tipp's Michael Quinlivan
Tipp’s Michael Quinlivan

“Gaelic football and hurling are team sports – but the GAA/GPA All-Stars offer us a chance to recognise and honour the warrior spirit of the players who, through their individual brilliance, helped ignite our season,” said GAA president Aogán Ó Fearghail, who chaired the selection committee.

“Enjoying a proud history that stretches back to 1971, the All-Stars award scheme continues to occupy a special place in the hearts and minds of the GAA public.

“I want to warmly congratulate the chosen players and know that it will be a massive honour for not only them and their families, but also for the clubs who started them out on the road to being inter-county heroes and now GAA/GPA All-Stars.”

The winners will receive their awards at Dublin’s Convention centre on Friday night, where the hurling All-Stars and players of the year will also be revealed.

2016 GAA/GPA football All-Stars

1. David Clarke (Mayo)
2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
3. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
4. Philly McMahon (Dublin)
5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)
6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)
7. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone)
10. Peter Harte (Tyrone)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)
13. Dean Rock (Dublin)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)
15. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *