England ease past Senegal to lineup quarter-final bout with France

Last 16

England 3-0 Senegal

England set up a mouthwatering World Cup quarter-final against reigning champions France as Jordan Henderson, Harry Kane and Bukayo Saka struck against Senegal.

Playing in their first knockout match on the world stage since the agonising extra-time 2018 semi-final loss to Croatia, Gareth Southgate’s men showed their quality to progress in Qatar.

Kane became England’s highest ever scorer at major tournaments after Henderson opened the scoring, with Saka superbly wrapping up a comfortable 3-0 win against Senegal in Sunday’s last-16 contest at Al Bayt Stadium.

Henderson puts England ahead against the run of play.

The reward is a return to Al Khor for a crunch clash against France next Saturday as last year’s European Championship runners-up take on the World Cup holders.

Southgate’s side will need to take their performance up a level given some of the problems Africa Cup of Nations winners Senegal were able to cause in a first half that ended with a quickfire England double.

Henderson was the unlikely man to open the scoring when coolly directing in the cutback from Jude Bellingham, who played a key role as England also scored with the final kick of the first half.

Kane celebrates after as  England move two clear.

The 19-year-old led a brilliant breakaway that ended with Phil Foden playing on to 2018 Golden Boot winner Kane, who slammed home his first goal in Qatar to become the side’s eighth different goalscorer.

Saka joined Marcus Rashford – the man he replaced in the starting line-up on Sunday – on three goals at this World Cup and ended the contest when he delicately clipped the ball over Edouard Mendy early in the second half.

England were in cruise control from that point and Southgate rung the changes with progress assured to consecutive World Cup quarter-finals – something the national team last managed in 2002 and 2006.

Man of the match: Harry Kane (England)



  • Jack Grealish replaces Phil Foden 65 mins
  • Marcus Rashford replaces Bukayo Saka 65 mins
  • Mason Mount replaces Jude Bellingham 76 mins
  • Eric Dier replaces John Stones 76 mins
  • Kalvin Phillips replaces Jordan Henderson 82 mins


  • Pape Matar Sarr replaces Krepin Diatta 46 mins
  • Bamba Dieng replaces Iliman Ndiaye 46 mins
  • Pape Alassane Gueye replaces Pathe Ciss 46 mins
  • Famara Diedhiou replaces Boulaye Dia 72 mins
  • Fodé Ballo-Touré replaces Ismail Jakobs 84 mins

Yellow cards:

Senegal – Kalidou Koulibaly

Referee: Iván Barton (El Salvador)

Discover more from Marking The Spot

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *