Milan completes hat-trick with victory on stage 13 – Giro d’Italia

Giro d’Italia 2024

Stage 13

Jonathan Milan (Lidl-Trek) reaffirmed his dominance over the Giro d’Italia sprint field on stage 13 with a third victory at the 2024 race in Cento, strengthening his hold on the maglia ciclamino after a perfect Lidl-Trek lead-out.

Fernando Gaviria (Movistar) started the sprint early as he’s tended to do in recent years, prompting Milan to jump from the wheel of his last man Simone Consonni (Lidl-Trek) and chase down the Colombian, before blasting past him for the hat-trick with no one matching his top speed.

Milan was dropped earlier in the stage when Ineos Grenadiers ignited the racing in the crosswinds with 60km to go but worked well with his full squad in a frantic 20km chase to ensure he had the chance to fight for the win.

A great sprint from Poland’s Stanisław Aniołkowski (Cofidis) saw him take second behind the Italian, with Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Victorious) taking third in Emilia-Romagna.

Despite expending so much effort in the echelons, Jasper Stuyven, Edward Theuns and Consonni also proved that Lidl-Trek had the best sprint outfit as a whole at the 2024 Giro, earning high praise from their powerful sprint leader.

“Let’s say that it was a moment when I stopped and then it happened these echelons in the front,” explained Milan of the moment he lost contact.

“The guys, like always, did an amazing job. We really pushed full gas to come back and catch the first group and then we always stayed in the first positions, then they delivered me in the perfect position.”

Milan’s track teammate Consonni has been the top final lead-out man, navigating the final few twisting bends into Cento with his sprinter glued to his wheel.

“We started the finish really well. We knew we had to come in the last corner with Simone and he had to start his leadout with 400m to go,” Milan said. “It was impressive how the guys rode today, how everyone did his part, how everyone pulled for this team goal. I’m super happy, super proud of the guys and like always I have to say thanks to them.”

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) maintained his race lead after staying safe in the nervous crosswind sections and staying in the front echelon at all times, before being led home to Cento by his team.

The peloton rolls along the flattest stage of this year’s Giro.

Dani Martínez (Bora-Hansgrohe) in second overall and Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) in third did similarly before the GC battle starts again at the weekend with the 31km time trial tomorrow, and brutal mountain stage to Livigno on Sunday.

Milan celebrates after clinching his third stage win.

Tomorrow sees the second individual time trial of the 2024 Giro and it is a predominantly flat test between Castiglione delle Stiviere and Desenzano del Garda. The 31.2 kilometres route takes in an elevation gain of roughly 250 metres.

The route is characterised by some minor uphills. The steepest one leads in 600 metres at 6% to Cavriana. The riders move through the village after 12 kilometres.

Two times the road rises for 400 metres at 4.5% – at kilometre 5 and at kilometre 19. The rest of the route is either flat or false flat, while the last 10 kilometres are purely flat.

There are two intermediate time checks – at kilometre 7.6 and at kilometre 22.8.

Last year’s Giro included three ITTs. Remco Evenepoel won the first two before he was forced to pull out with Covid-19, while the last one was an ITT for climbers. Primoz Roglic took the spoils and won the Giro in doing so.

Pogačar triumphed in the hilly time trial to Perugia last Friday seeing off Filippo Ganna, the Italian will surely fancy his chances to exact some revenge on the flatter route.

Stage 13 result:

1. Jonathan Milan (Ita/Lidl-Trek) 4:02:03

2. Stanislaw Aniolkowski (Pol/Cofidis)

3. Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Bahrain Victorious)

4. Tim van Dijke (Ned/Team Visma)

5. Hugo Hofstetter (Fra/Israel-Premier Tech)

6. Fernando Gaviria (Col/Movistar)

7. Juan Sebastian Molano (Col/UAE Team Emirates)

8. Laurence Pithie (NZL/Groupama – FDJ)

9. Giovanni Lonardi (Ita/Polti-Kometa)

10. Alberto Dainese (Ita/Tudor Pro Cycling) all same time

General Classification:

1. Tadej Pogačar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates, in 49:24:38
2. Daniel Martinez (Col) Bora-Hansgrohe, +2:40
3. Geraint Thomas (Gbr) Ineos Grenadiers, +2:56
4. Ben O’Connor (Aus) Decathlon-AG2R La Mondiale, +3:39
5. Antonio Tiberi (Ita) bahrain Victorious, +4:27
6. Romain Bardet (Fra) dsm-firmenich PostNL, +4:57
7. Lorenzo Fortunato (Ita) Astana Qazaqstan, +5:19
8. Filippo Zana (Ita) Jayco-AIUla, +5:23
9. Einer Rubio (Col) Movistar, +5:28
10. Thymen Arensman (Ned) Ineos Grenadiers, +5:52

Discover more from Marking The Spot

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *